Introductions

We figured, the best way to introduce you to our Tiny House journey, is to tell the stories of how “tiny living” captured our attention.

-Dominique-

I was first introduced to “tiny living” in the early to mid 2000s when I heard of something called a Yurt (I’ve linked info, that has pictures). I would watch programs on channels such as HGTV, that showed people creatively designing and living in them. I loved the simplicity of the Yurt. To me, it seemed to offer exactly what you need, in the space you need it. I often fantasized of what life in a Yurt would be like, but was quickly met with “reality”. I thought, “who would want to live in that with me…”. So, as I got older I began to convince myself I wanted what many attribute to the “American Dream”- A white picket fence, 2.5 kids, and a mortgage.

There were many things that began changing my view of finances, and what is associated with success and comfort. One of the biggest influences, was the loss of my childhood home. But, it was not until I went abroad for 5 months, that my ideals on these things changed completely. I came to better understand the difference between necessity and luxury.

Traveling caused me to become enthralled with the idea of experiencing new people, new places, and new things. I wanted the world to be my home. I didn’t want to be bound by temporary stuff and things. I wanted to live on purpose, and nothing was going to stop me from doing that.

Somewhere in the midst of all of this growing up and ideal changing, I came across the concept of the Tiny House, and fell in love. I’ve always been a bit of an odd ball and “free spirit” so, unusual ideas like this weren’t uncommon to me. Still unsure of if I’d ever meet someone who wanted to pursue an nontraditional lifestyle with me, or even how I’d achieve it, I remained prayerful and let God lead me. That is when John and I met, and Tiny House planning began.

-John-

Rather than being introduced, I would say the idea of tiny living was something that evolved for me.

It really started when I was a child. My siblings, the neighbor kids, and I would spend all of our time in the woods, where we made a village. Each of us made ourselves a mini dug-out with a roof, that we could call our own. We gathered food that grew on the land, and just existed.

As a teenager, I started a rock band. Where we practiced was too far from my house to be convenient so, a majority of the time I would stay in my car. It was around this time that my family lost their place of dwelling, and spent the next 7 months in a couple of tents.I made out during this time, and became somewhat of a roamer. Staying in my car, at my singers house, and knocking around.

These experiences and more, forged in me a sturdy desire for the freedom that belongs to those who are not in possession of a house. Those not in possession of of monthly rent, and even worse, a mortgage (gasp). I began to scheme up ideas on how I could live off of the back of my motorcycle. How, in the future when I had a wife I could turn a van into a house.

I don’t remember the first time I came across tiny houses, but I do remember how strongly they resonated with me. A phrase that I always said was, “When you want to move, you just start up your vehicle. “With a Tiny House, this was also true. Hitch it up, and off you go.” Wanderlust and tiny houses are quite compatible.

Now, praise God, here I am.

We’d love if you follow along, give us feedback, and share any stories you might have.

-John & Dom

4 thoughts on “Introductions

  1. That’s an awesome story you two. And what a refreshingly prospective yall have and share. I however would love to see it. So we should set something up in the meantime add some pics. To you link.
    Talk soon

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

